Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri

Chaitra Navaratri 2017 Dates & Calendar: Importance and Puja Shubh Muhurat Time of nine-day Navratri Festival

Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri
Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri

The first day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will fall on March 28, Tuesday. Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on the first day of Navratri. Just like the Shardiya Navratri, most of rituals and traditions remain similar during the spring festival celebrations.

Ghatasthapana Muhurta is the most important ritual which is to be followed dedicatedly as it marks the beginning of Chaitra Navaratri festivity. Ghatasthapana is an invocation of Goddess Shakti and to be done only in shubh muhurat time. Ghatasthapana is also known as Kalash Sthapana or Kalashsthapana. Ghatasthapana Muhurta time is 08:26 to 10:24 (Delhi), a duration of 1 Hour 57 Mins. Kindly check accordingly for various states across India.

Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri

Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri
Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri

Shailputri Puja takes place on the first day (pratipada) of Chaitra Navaratri, i.e will be worshipped on March 28, Tuesday this year. This form of Goddess Parvati is recognized as – rides a bull, carries a Trishul (trident) in her right hand and a lotus flower in her left hand. After self-immolation in form of Goddess Sati,

Shailputri is born as the daughter of Lord Himalaya and her name is derived, from the Sanskrit word ‘shail’ meaning mountain and ‘putri’ meaning daughter – hence, Shailputri is daughter of mountain. Shailputri took an oath to marry Lord Shiva and succeeded with her gritty determination. Shailputri governs the planet moon.

She is recognized for the determination and achieving impossible feats as she is considered to be Goddess with unlimited power. Mantra to worship Devi Shailputri – Mantra: Om Devi Shailaputryai Namah ॐ देवी शैलपुत्र्यै नम.

Chaitra Navratri, Ghatasthapana 2017: Navratri Dates, Nav Durga Puja Timings & Vidhi 

Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri
Chaitra Navaratri Day 1 – Devi Shailputri

Chaitra Navratri holds immense significance among Hindus. It is one of the most auspicious festivals, wherein devotees worship Goddess Durga and her nine forms for nine days and nights. Chaitra Navratri celebrated on March 28, 2017, and is also known as Vasant Navratri.

According to popular mythological stories, Chaitra Navratri is celebrated in the memory of the victory of Prince Sudarsana who won the battle with the divine blessings of Goddess Shakti and performed havan in her honour during Vasant Panchami.

The auspicious day symbolises victory over evil. The term ‘Nav’ means nine, and ‘ratri’ means nights and this festival is dedicated to the Shakti which is a symbol of the ultimate strength. Navratri is celebrated twice in a year, one during the spring season and the other one during the winter.

Chaitra Navratri will begin on March 28 and end on April 5. The festival starts with Ghatasthapana which is a traditional ritual in which Hindus offer special prayers with specific rituals. Ghatasthanana symbolises the commencement of the occasion for nine days.

Devotees perform special pujas to seek divine blessings from God and Goddess on this auspicious day. The festival starts with Ghatasthapana ritual which is an age-old tradition wherein believers place a picture of Goddess into the Kalash (pot). The pot is covered with cow dung, and seeds are sown in the dung. The sprouted seeds are then distributed in the form of prasad on the Vijayadashami day.

Here we have the auspicious timings for Chaitra Navratri, Ghatasthapana 2017

Ghatasthapana Muhurta = 08:26 to 10:42

Duration = 2 Hours 15 Mins

Ghatasthapana Muhurta falls on Amavasya Tithi Due to skipped Pratipada

Pratipada Tithi Begins = 08:26 on 28/Mar/2017

Pratipada Tithi Ends = 05:44 on 29/Mar/2017

During the first three days of the Chaitra, Navratri devotees worship Goddess Durga and Laxmi, Saraswati for three days. On this day, devotees worship nine incarnations of Goddess Durga and her different forms include Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri.

It is said that Lord Shiva granted permission to his wife Goddess Durga to meet her mother for just nine days and during that time, Goddess even defeated demon Mahishasura. On this auspicious day, devotees also observe fast and chant various mantras. We at wish Happy Chaitra Navratri to everyone!